So one fine day I was browsing through different food blogs and came across this wonderful recipe and I thought to myself ‘what a good way of using spinach’. I had barely finished reading the post that my taste buds started to tickle and my brain started processing whatever i had just read. I made this wonderful recipe the same time and since then I have been making Spinach Pilaf again and again.

I tweaked the original recipe a bit and added a bit of ingredients of my liking. This is a simple yet healthy recipe which never fails to please anyone savouring it.

Serves – 2 people

Ingredients: 

1 cup = 240 ml

  • ½ cup cooked rice
  • 3 cloves garlic (finely chopped)
  • ½ medium onion (finely chopped)
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil
  • 3 cups spinach (finely chopped)
  • 2 red dried chillies
  • ½ tsp cumin seeds
  • salt to taste

Cooking Instructions : How to prepare Spinach Pilaf

Heat oil in a pan and add cumin seeds. Once cumin seeds start fluttering add chopped garlic and red dried chillies.

a

Once you start getting the aroma of garlic add chopped onions and saute for 2-3 minutes.

b

Now add chopped spinach.

c

Saute and stir the spinach for 2-3 minutes until the spinach wilts. Add salt and mix well.

d

Add cold boiled rice to the pan.

e

Toss the rice and spinach mixture for 4-5 minutes until all the rice grains are coated and flavoured with spinach mixture.

f

Rice is ready to be served and eaten 🙂

rice

pi4

Looking for more Rice recipes. Check out Vegetable Fried Rice – Indian Style.

Indo Chinese Vegetable Fried Rice. 

 

 

 

