So once upon a time my husband got Kale while returning from work. I looked at it and asked him what it was. I absolutely had no idea about this leafy vegetable, since it is not available in India (at least I had never seen it or heard of it) and had no clue of what to do with it. By the end of the week this plant was in my garbage bin.

Now my forgetful husband gets the leafy vegetable again, clearly not remembering it’s fate, the last time he got it. So this time, I put some kale stems in the mutton soup taking pride in the fact that I finally knew how to use this dubious veggie.

The third time my husband handed over Kale to me explaining the nutrients it contains and it was then that I searched every nook and corner of internet, for some recipes to be made of the poor Kale. And I am glad I did that, coz of the varieties of delicious recipes I made thereafter, I instantly fell in love with Kale.

For all those people who are unaware of it’s benefits (like I was earlier), Kale is loaded with Vitamin A, K, C, B6, Manganese, Calcium etc. It is rich in antioxidants and is an excellent source of Vitamin C. Kale can help reduce cholesterol and contains numerous cancer fighting nutrients. Easy to use, Kale can be used in everyday foods like salads and smoothies. A very popular snack is Kale chips.

The result of the above mentioned reading is that Kale is a weekly visitor in our home now.

Talking about this recipe. It’s a 15 minute recipe and the combination of the earthly spices mustard and cumin seeds and the tangy kick of lemon, makes it heavenly with the topping of desiccated coconut.

Serves – 2 people

Ingredients:

1 cup = 240 ml

  • 4 cups Kale (chopped)
  • Half medium sized onion (finely chopped)
  • 3 cloves garlic (finely chopped)
  • ½ tsp mustard seeds
  • ½ tsp cumin seeds
  • Salt as per taste
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil
  • 2 tbs desiccated coconut
  • 1 – 2 tbs Lemon juice
  • ½ tsp red chilli flakes (optional)

Cooking instructions – How to prepare delicious multi – nutritious Kale with coconut and lemon juice

Heat oil in a wok and add cumin seeds and mustard seeds.

DSC04481

Once the seeds start fluttering add chopped garlic.

DSC04482

Saute garlic for about 1 minute and add chopped onions.

DSC04485

Now saute onions for 2-3 minutes on low medium heat and then add chopped kale and little bit of water (appx. ¼ of a cup). You will notice that kale reduces to half of it’s quantity in some time. Put the lid on and cook kale for 5-7 minutes on low – medium heat.

100

When water evaporates and kale reduces to half of it’s original quantity, add desiccated coconut, salt and red chilly flakes. Cook for some more time appx. 5-7 minutes by covering the lid.

101

Now kale is ready to be eaten by the hungry crowd. A relatively easy and quick side dish which goes well with most other mains. I served it with Baked Chicken, stir fry vegetables and a glass of orange juice 🙂

102

Doesn’t it look super yummy ? Yum !! I couldn’t wait to eat it.

104

For the love of Kale do try out Kale and Sweet potato Rosti

