I guess I have a thing for anything Italian. I love Italian food, my favorite place is Venice even though I have not been there till now. (But will definitely visit someday) I love the language and I also have a painting of Venice in my bedroom. How cool is that 🙂 Now with this immense love and attraction that I have for Italy, I sometime feel that I may have been an Italian in my past life. Do you believe in past life? Well I do that too fiercely. Yes that’s the term I would like to use for my belief in past life. That’s is a different topic altogether and that too a fascinating one, which we should leave for discussion for another time. Isn’t? For now Italian food is the hot cake.

How I love Italian food – Pizza, Pasta, Lasagna, Risotto you name it and I love it. The cheesy flavor which just melts in your mouth the moment you take it in, is to die for. For me Italian food is like a therapy for my soul, something that lifts my mood and makes me a happy person, just like the way it did for Elizabeth in “Eat Pray Love.” I still remember how the writer described the Italian food – soulful, revitalizing, delicious and beautiful to look at. I guess that’s how this food should be summarized. Ok ! Now I wouldn’t want to bore you with my Italian food saga and let’s divulge straight into the Creamy Red Sauce pasta recipe.

Before you read on…just wanted to tell you that this Creamy Red Sauce Italian pasta recipe is straight out of my heart made with a lot of love. And it’s delicious! Just the right mix of the spices, veggies and the cheesy and creamy flavor.

Serves – 2 -3 people

Ingredients:

1 Cup = 240 ml

  • 1½ Cup Penne Pasta
  • 1 Carrot Medium Size (sliced into thin strips)
  • ½ Red Bell Pepper (sliced or cut into squares)
  • ½ Green Bell Pepper (sliced or cut into squares)
  • 1 Cup Broccoli (Place broccoli in a bowl full of water and microwave for 5 minutes)
  • 1 Onion medium Size (chopped finely)
  • 2 Garlic Cloves (chopped finely)
  • 1 Tomato (chopped into squares)
  • 4 Tbs vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp Oregano
  • ½ tsp Thyme
  • 2 – 3 tbs Barbecue Sauce
  • 1 tsp Red Chilly Flakes
  • Cheese (grated) for garnishing
  • 1 tbs cream + more for garnishing

Cooking instructions – How to prepare Creamy Red Sauce Italian Pasta

Boil Penne Pasta in a pan and cook until soft and cooked. Once cooked drain the water and keep aside.

20170705_191910

Now its time to stir fry the veggies. Take 2 tbs oil in a non-stick pan and heat the oil. Once oil is hot add carrots. Keep the flame to low-medium and keep flipping the carrots in between preventing them from burning.

Once carrots are cooked and a little browned, remove from the pan and add bell pepper slices. Repeat the process of flipping in between and once done remove bell pepper from pan and add broccoli.

The idea here is to add a bit of crunchiness to the veggies so it’s important to not over cook them or under cook them. The veggies should be a bit browned on the outside with a little crunch.

1

Now once the veggies are sauteed. Take a wok and heat 2 tbs oil. Add chopped garlic and saute for 1 minute on medium flame. (The garlic should not be browned) Now add onions and saute them for appx. 2-3 minutes stirring in between.

Now add chopped tomatoes and a little water and salt. Place the lid and let the tomatoes turn soft and mushy. 2

Once the water from the tomatoes dries up and tomatoes are soft and cooked add oregano and thyme and stir well.

Now add Penne Pasta and barbecue sauce. Mix well so that penne pasta is evenly coated with barbecue sauce.  Mix the stir fried veggies and mix well.

Taste the Pasta and adjust seasoning as per taste. Sprinkle red chilly flakes, 1 tbs cream and grated cheese over the Pasta and mix well.

3

The scrumptious Red Sauce Creamy Pasta is ready to be served. Place some on a serving plate and garnish with some grated cheese and pour some cream on top.

1

